Geographical / Historical Information

From "A HORNBOOK OF VIRGINIA HISTORY" published by the Virginia State Library in 1965.

LOUISA COUNTY was named for Princess Louisa, a daughter of George II. It was formed from Hanover in 1742. Its area is 514 square miles, and the county seat is Louisa.

HANOVER COUNTY was named for George I, who, at the time of his accession to the English throne, was Elector of Hanover, Germany. The county was formed from New Kent in 1721. Its area is 466 square miles, and the county seat is Hanover.

NEW KENT COUNTY was probably named for the English county Kent. Colonel William Claiborne, a native of Kent, was a prominent resident of the Virginia county at the time of its formation. New Kent County was formed in 1654 from York County; later land was added to New Kent County from James City County, as well as land being given to James City County from New Kent County. (For historical formation purposes, York County was the county from which New Kent County was formed as other geographical changes did not take place until some years later.) Its area is 221 square miles, and its county seat is New Kent.

YORK COUNTY was originally named Charles River, and was one of the eight shires formed in 1634. The present name was given in 1643, probably in honor of James, Duke of York, the second son of Charles I. Its area is 123 square miles, and the county seat is Yorktown.

Chronological events for Virginia

(From: A Genealogical And Historical Atlas of America)

Post Offices in Louisa County, Virginia -- 1853 (from The National Gazetteer - 1853)

Alto Long Creek
Ambler's Mills Manfield
Bells Cross Roads Mechanisville
Cuckooville Poindexters Store
Ellisville Pottiesville
Frederickshall Second Turn Out
Gilboa South Anna
Gum Spring Thompsons Cross Roads
Harris Tolersville
Jackson Trevillian's Depot
Locust Creek